Wherever He Leads

We all have our favorite hymns or praise songs, don’t we?  Every time we sing “Great is Thy Faithfulness” I think of my sister – it was sung at her wedding and is one of her favorites.  I have many beautiful memories of my mother when I hear “In the Garden.”  I cannot hear “Shout to the Lord” without thinking of my days with the Samford Singers.  Recently, another favorite song has been burned on my memory.

Jon and I have had the privilege of speaking in some amazing churches lately.  Since he has obligations on Sunday morning, I have been flying solo in a few churches the past few weeks.  Two weeks ago Abigail and I traveled to Keysville for me to share with Ash Camp Baptist Church, and this past Sunday Kaitlyn and I shared worship with Black Branch Baptist Church in Chase City.  At each of these churches, I was greeted warmly, and welcomed into their fellowship.  It is such a beautiful picture of the body of Christ to me.  The caring and loving spirit of these two churches truly was a genuine witness.

In most of the churches that we speak in, we request to sing “Wherever He Leads” as the closing hymn.  We have been drawn to this hymn as a closing statement of what ‘praying with our feet’ really looks like.  I was struck, this Sunday, by the fact that I have been able to sing this song with literally hundreds of people all over the southeast during this partner-building process.  Each time I sing it, I am made more aware of God’s power to call each of us out, and then draw us together as a community.  Each person that sings this song with me at the close of a service adds to ‘my community.’  I can only imagine the feelings of nostalgia that I will feel for years to come- and the privilege that we have had to share life with so many during this process.  I will leave you with the words to this poignant hymn.

“Take up thy cross and follow Me,” I heard my Master say; 
“I gave My life to ransom thee, Surrender your all today.” 
Wherever He leads I’ll go, Wherever He leads I’ll go, 
I’ll follow my Christ who loves me so, Wherever He leads I’ll go. 

He drew me closer to His side, I sought His will to know, 
And in that will I now abide, Wherever He leads I’ll go. 
Wherever He leads I’ll go, Wherever He leads I’ll go, 
I’ll follow my Christ who loves me so, Wherever He leads I’ll go. 

It may be thru’ the shadows dim, Or o’er the stormy sea, 
I take my cross and follow Him, Wherever He leadeth me. 
Wherever He leads I’ll go, Wherever He leads I’ll go, 
I’ll follow my Christ who loves me so, Wherever He leads I’ll go. 

My heart, my life, my all I bring To Christ who loves me so; 
he is my Master, Lord, and King, Wherever He leads I’ll go. 
Wherever He leads I’ll go, Wherever He leads I’ll go, 
I’ll follow my Christ who loves me so, Wherever He leads I’ll go. 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

